# **Cooperative Educational Service Agency 3 Board of Control (BOC) Meeting Minutes**

Monday, January 23, 2023

The Meeting of the Board of Control of the CESA 3 Agency was called to order by Chair Mike Humke at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, January 23, 2023.

Chair Mike Humke led the Board Members in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call was taken, with the following Board members in attendance or \*participating online: \*Benjamin Gavinski, \*Chantel Hampton, Mike Humke, \*April Jennings, Mark Johnson, \*Janet Matthes, \*Kim Schmelz, and \*Wendi Stitzer. Member(s) who were not in attendance: Gary Andrews, Bob Hermanson, and Kristin Spurley.

Chair Humke noted the official posting of the meeting by the Proof of Public Notice and the Agenda. A motion was made by Benjamin Gavinski and seconded by Janet Matthes that the Proof of Public Notice and Adoption of the Agenda be sufficient under the requirements of the open meeting law and be declared the official Agenda of the meeting. Upon voice vote, with all members voting aye, motion carried.

No public comment.

**MINUTES:** A motion was made by Chantel Hampton and seconded by Kim Schmelz to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on <u>December 19, 2022</u>. Upon voice vote, with all members voting Aye, motion carried.

#### FINANCIAL REPORT:

**Disbursements** - The Board reviewed the A/P detail check register for December 2022. A motion was made by Benjamin Gavinski and seconded by Chantel Hampton to approve the disbursements as presented. Upon roll call vote, the following Board Members voted Aye: Benjamin Gavinski, Chantel Hampton, Mike Humke, April Jennings, Mark Johnson, Janet Matthes, Kim Schmelz, and Wendi Stitzer. Members voting no: none. Motion carried.

#### **INFORMATION:**

- 1. Dr. Jamie Nutter gave a Kitchen Remodel Update.
- 2. Dr. Jamie Nutter led a discussion on the procedure to fill Area III Candidacy. Member schools are: Barneveld, Dodgeville, Highland, Iowa-Grant, Mineral Point, and River Valley.

### **ACTION ITEMS:**

1. Considering hiring a YA Coordinator that will be funded by the SWTC, UW-Platteville, and CESA 3 DWD Grant. A motion was made by Mark Johnson and seconded by April Jennings to offer the YA Coordinator position to Cara Carper, even though Cara has not confirmed that she would accept the position if offered. Upon roll call vote, the following Board Members voted Aye: Benjamin Gavinski, Chantel Hampton, Mike Humke, April Jennings, Mark Johnson, Janet Matthes, Kim Schmelz, and Wendi Stitzer. Members voting no: none. Motion carried.

## **Establish Date and Time of the Next Board of Control Meeting:**

The next regular Board of Control Meeting will be Monday, February 27, 2023, at 6:30 p.m.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by April Jennings and seconded by Wendi Stitzer to adjourn the meeting at 7:07 p.m. Upon voice vote, with all members voting Aye, motion carried.